Skip to main content

FNR

PROJECT: KitchenLab

Kitchen or laboratory?! Co-financed by a PSP-Classic subsidy from the FNR, visitors discover how much science and technology is actually hidden in the kitchen and thus get to know a new side of it. In interactive workshops, visitors discover that a pinch of biology, chemistry, physics and mathematics is hidden in every meal – this is how their interest in these topics is aroused in a playful way. To this day, this project gave the go-ahead for successful and popular activities: the KitchenLab was established, furnished, equipped and the first four workshops for all ages were developed.

– Foodtransformers: When chocolate turns whitish and changes its texture? What is behind this phenomenon and more importantly: can you repair the chocolate?

– Hack the recipe: The best-known and most important kitchen reaction – the Maillard reaction – is the reason why food turns golden brown, smells and tastes delicious when it is roasted and baked. But what exactly is going on here and how can I experiment with the Maillard reaction?

– Trick your senses: Red, green, blue … how exactly does color influence our sense of taste? In this workshop we tested it and duped our visitors.

– Spherelicious: Spherical. In this workshop, visitors learned how much science is in round food.

– ESCITEing! With the help of this project, the Luxembourg Science Center organized and animated the “Delicious Science” session at Europe’s largest conference for science centers and museums: https://www.ecsite.eu/activities-and-services/ecsite-events/conferences/sessions/delicious-science

PROJECT: Descom

The Luxembourg Science Center is a partner in the Descom PSP flagship project led by the University of Luxembourg. In the context of this project science communication activities are organized and science communication courses are offered for doctoral students in Luxembourg. In the context of this project, the Luxembourg Science Center welcomes interns and hosts the comic exhibition developed by Descom.

Sonia is a doctoral candidate at the University of Luxembourg and did her internship with us at the Luxembourg Science Center: “I have always liked communicating science and sharing my knowledge with everyone. During my doctoral studies, I learned about the Science Center, and the DESCOM put me in contact to do an internship. Not only did I learn a lot more about science and communication, but I also had so much fun and collaborated with a wonderful team! My experience was so positive that, after the internship, I continue working in the Center as a scientific mediator.”

“Science is sometimes difficult to explain, that’s why we have to find fun ways to do it. A comic is a great way to give a message to the audience, who doesn’t like comics?” – Sonia (Twitter: @scisonias)

Descom developed 7 exciting comics on the subject of research in Luxembourg in collaboration with 22 doctoral students and professional artists. These were exhibited in the Luxembourg Science Center for 5 months.

The official homepage of the project can be found here: https://wwwfr.uni.lu/formations/fstm/doctoral_education_in_science_communication_descom

PROJECT: ScienceAlert

Where is science hidden in our everyday life? The ScienceAlert project, co-financed by a PSP Classic subsidy, is dedicated to this question. In the specially equipped LSC Studio , physical, chemical, mathematical and biological secrets of everyday life are revealed.

Which physical principle is hidden behind a corkscrew? Do energy drinks do what they promise? How does our brain actually communicate with our muscles? What do the earth and a greenhouse have in common? These are some of the questions we will find answers to during the short and interactive science shows (LSC News) “Cheers to science”, “Boost your performance” and “Trapped in a greenhouse”.

In addition, LSC reports, experts from the respective departments are presented in the video series and science is highlighted in their everyday life.

– EPISODE 1 – EPISODE 1 – Vinsmoselle: Charlène Muller, cellar master at DomainesVinsmoselle, explains how tartar is created and how tartar can be prevented.

– EPISODE 2 – LUNEX: Dr. Thorben Hülsdünker, Research Fellow at LUNEX University, demonstrates how training with stroboscopic glasses can optimize the reaction speed of athletes.

– EPISODE 3 – Terra: Sophie Pixius, co-founder of Terra, explains the impact of climate change on agriculture and how you can strengthen the resilience of agriculture.

The Coronavirus Mythbusters were also launched as part of this project. In this video series, myths about the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic were analyzed and corrected if necessary in collaboration with Luxembourg scientists.

You can find all the “Mythbusters” videos here: /en/mythbusters-coronavirus-15-episodes

PROJECT: EngrEdiEnts

Co-subsidized through a PSP Classic grant, this project revolves around the EngrEdiEnts of our food. You can find all sorts of incomprehensible numbers on food packaging – so-called E numbers – but what exactly is behind them? In collaboration with cooks and scientists from Luxembourg, 4 interactive workshops on the subject of E-Numbers were developed. Since then we have been decrypting this e-code together with our guests in the kitchen laboratory in an exciting and entertaining way.

E400-E499, thickeners, stabilizers and emulsifiers: Immiscible? Impossible!

What is the physical state of ice cream and what makes it so smooth? Visitors experiment with the EngrEdiEnts of ice cream and discover their influence on the taste and texture of ice cream. This workshop was developed together with the food scientist Christos Soukoulis from the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology.

E200-E324, preservatives and antioxidants: astronauts food.

How do we manage to preserve our food for a year on the International Space Station? During this workshop, the participants discover a wide variety of methods to preserve food.

E200-E324, preservatives and antioxidants: death vs. alive.

What do yeast and baking powder have in common and what are the differences? Through various recipes and experiments, visitors to this workshop will explore answers to this precise question.

E950 – E968, sweeteners: Sugar rush.

A sugar frenzy without calories – is that even possible? Visitors experiment with sugar and sugar substitutes in order to discover the properties of the individual molecules.

 

Together with the Luxembourgish chefs Damien Klein, Ben Weber and Cathy Goedert and the support of the Laboratoire Luxembourgeois de Contrôle Sanitaire, we have produced three videos on the subject of E-Numbers. Here delicious recipes were cooked and the science behind them explained.

Smoked salmon at E249-E252

The curing and smoking of salmon extend its shelf life, that much is clear. But how does it work? What would happen to the salmon after a while if we weren’t going to use preservation methods? These questions are answered using a delicious recipe by Damien Klein and exciting experiments.

Sea bream on sauerkraut and Luxembourg Fueskichelcher made by microorganisms

With the help of Lactobacillus and Saccharomyces cerevisiae , as well as the recipes by Ben Weber, we show how microorganisms transform simple ingredients into tasty dishes. Spectators can admire these tiny creatures in large measure and learn why such dishes usually require a little patience.

Orange tartlets with E-950/953

In this video we baked Cathy Goedert’s delicious orange tart recipe with four different sugar substitutes: sucrose, fructose, E950 and E953. But what is the difference between these sugar substitutes and sugar? How do they taste? How are they processed by our body? These questions as well as interesting information about cotton candy and sugar decoration can be found in this sweet video. 

The project was crowned by a sweet final event: together with Cathy Goedert, visitors were able to discover delicious recipes and experience spectacular experiments. Science for all ages.

PROJECT: Unpuzzling mathematics

«Unpuzzling mathematics» is a project financed by a PSP-Classic grant by the Fonds national de la recherche (FNR). The project aims to transmit the joy and excitement of one of the most important, yet relatively unknown, subjects of modern research: mathematics.

Building on the interactive book-app “Mathema” (https://tom-books.com/mathema/) written by Hugo Parlier (http://math.uni.lu/parlier/) from the University of Luxembourg and Paul Turner (http://www.unige.ch/~turnerpa/) from the University of Geneva, the goal of the current projects is threefold:

  • The first objective is to make “Mathema” (currently only available on iPad) available for Android.
  • The second objective is to create a new puzzle app, conceived following user experience of Mathema and our experience using Mathema in public events.
  • The third and final objective is to create an interactive exhibit based on the combinatorial games in Mathema and the App. The exhibit will take a permanent spot at the Luxembourg Science Center.

Plan your exploration !

Car image
By continuing to browse this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Aller au contenu principal

FNR

PROJET : LaboCuisine

Cuisine ou laboratoire ? ! Cofinancé par une subvention PSP-Classic du FNR, les visiteurs du LaboCuisine constatent à quel point la science et la technologie se cachent réellement dans la cuisine et apprennent ainsi à connaître une nouvelle facette de celle-ci. Dans des ateliers interactifs, les visiteurs découvrent qu’une pincée de biologie, de chimie, de physique et de mathématiques est cachée dans chaque repas – c’est ainsi que leur intérêt pour ces sujets est suscité de manière ludique. Ce projet a donné le feu vert à des activités réussies et populaires à ce jour : le LaboCuisine a été créé, meublé, équipé et les quatre premiers studios pour petits et grands ont été développés.

– Foodtransformers : Quand le chocolat devient blanchâtre et change de texture ? Qu’y a-t-il derrière ce phénomène et surtout : pouvez-vous réparer le chocolat ?

– Hack the recipe : La réaction de cuisine la plus connue et la plus importante – la réaction de Maillard – est la raison pour laquelle les aliments deviennent dorés, sentent et ont un goût délicieux lorsqu’ils sont rôtis et cuits au four. Mais que se passe-t-il exactement ici et comment expérimenter la réaction de Maillard ?

– Trick your senses : Rouge, vert, bleu… comment la couleur affecte-t-elle exactement notre sens du goût ? Dans cet atelier, nous l’avons testé et trompé les sens de nos visiteurs.

– Spherelicious : Sphérique. Au cours de cet atelier, les visiteurs ont découvert la science qu’il y a dans une alimentation sphérique.

– ESCITEing ! À l’aide de ce projet, le Luxembourg Science Center a organisé et animé la session « Delicious Science » lors de la plus grande conférence d’Europe pour les centres scientifiques et les musées : https://www.ecsite.eu/activities-and-services/ecsite-events/conferences/sessions/delicious-science

 

PROJET : Descom

Le Luxembourg Science Center est partenaire du projet PSP-Flagship Descom, dirigé par l’Université du Luxembourg. Dans le cadre de ce projet, des activités de communication scientifique sont organisées et des cours de communication scientifique sont proposés aux doctorants au Luxembourg. Dans le cadre de ce projet, le Luxembourg Science Center accueille des stagiaires et accueille l’exposition de bandes dessinées développée par Descom

Sonia est doctorante à l’Université du Luxembourg et a effectué son stage avec nous au Luxembourg Science Center : « J’ai toujours aimé communiquer la science et partager mes connaissances avec tout le monde. Au cours de mes études doctorales, j’ai découvert le Science Center, et le DESCOM m’a mis en contact pour faire un stage. Non seulement j’ai appris beaucoup plus sur la science et la communication, mais je me suis beaucoup amusée et j’ai collaboré avec une équipe formidable ! Mon expérience a été si positive qu’après le stage, je continue à travailler au Science Center en tant que médiateur scientifique”

“Science is sometimes difficult to explain, that’s why we have to find fun ways to do it. A comic is a great way to give a message to the audience, who doesn’t like comics ?” – Sonia (Twitter : @scisonias)

En collaboration avec 22 doctorants et dessinateurs professionnels, Descom a développé 7 bandes dessinées passionnantes sur le thème de la recherche au Luxembourg. Celles-ci ont été exposées au Luxembourg Science Center pendant 5 mois.

La page d’accueil officielle du projet se trouve ici : https://wwwfr.uni.lu/formations/fstm/doctoral_education_in_science_communication_descom

PROJET : ScienceAlert

Où se cache la science dans notre vie quotidienne ? Le projet ScienceAlert, cofinancé par une subvention PSP Classic, est dédié à cette question. Dans le Studio LSC spécialement équipé, les secrets physiques, chimiques, mathématiques et biologiques de la vie quotidienne sont révélés.

Quel est le principe physique d’un tire-bouchon ? Les boissons énergisantes font-elles ce qu’elles promettent ? Comment notre cerveau communique-t-il réellement avec nos muscles ? Qu’est-ce que la terre et une serre ont en commun ? Voici quelques-unes des questions auxquelles nous trouverons des réponses lors des courtes émissions scientifiques interactives (LSC News) “Cheers to science”, “Boost your performance” et “Trapped in a greenhouse”.

 

En outre, dans la série de vidéos LSC reports, des experts des domaines respectifs sont présentés et la science est mise en évidence dans leur vie quotidienne.

– EPISODE 1 – Vinsmoselle : Charlène Muller, maîtresse de chai chez DomainesVinsmoselle, explique comment se crée le tartre et comment éviter la formation du tartre.

– EPISODE 2 – LUNEX : Dr. Thorben Hülsdünker, chercheur à l’Université LUNEX, démontre comment l’entraînement avec des lunettes stroboscopiques peut optimiser la vitesse de réaction des athlètes.

– EPISODE 3 – Terra : Sophie Pixius, co-fondatrice de Terra, explique les effets du changement climatique sur l’agriculture et comment on peut renforcer la résilience de l’agriculture.

Les Coronavirus Mythbusters ont également été lancés dans le cadre de ce projet. Dans cette série de vidéos, des mythes sur la pandémie de SRAS-CoV-2 ont été analysés et, si nécessaire, corrigés en coopération avec des scientifiques luxembourgeois.

Vous trouverez ici toutes les vidéos « Mythbusters » : /fr/mythbusters-coronavirus-15-episodes

PROJECT : EngrEdiEnts

Co-subventionné grâce à une subvention PSP-Classic, tout tourne autour des ingrédients de notre alimentation dans ce projet . Vous pouvez trouver toutes sortes de chiffres incompréhensibles sur les emballages alimentaires – appelés numéros E – mais qu’y a-t-il exactement derrière tout ça ? En collaboration avec des cuisiniers et des scientifiques luxembourgeois, 4 ateliers interactifs sur le thème des numéros E ont été développés. Depuis lors, nous avons décodé ce code E avec nos invités dans le laboratoire de cuisine d’une manière surprenante et divertissante.

E400-E499, Épaississants, stabilisants et émulsifiants : non miscibles ? Impossible !

Quel est l’état physique de la crème glacée et qu’est-ce qui la rend si souple ? Les visiteurs expérimentent avec les EngrEdiEnts de la crème glacée et découvrent leur influence sur le goût et la texture de la glace. Cet atelier a été développé en collaboration avec le spécialiste de l’alimentation Christos Soukoulis du Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology.

E200-E324, Conservateurs et antioxydants : la nourriture des astronautes

Comment parvenons-nous à conserver notre nourriture pendant un an sur la Station spatiale internationale ? Au cours de cet atelier, les participants découvrent une grande variété de méthodes de conservation des aliments.

E200-E324, Conservateurs et antioxydants : la mort vs. la vie.

Qu’est-ce que la levure et la levure chimique ont en commun et quelles sont les différences ? À travers diverses recettes et expériences, les visiteurs de cet atelier exploreront les réponses à cette question précise.

E950 – E968, Édulcorants : Escapade sucrée.

Une frénésie de sucre sans calories – est-ce encore possible ? Les visiteurs expérimentent avec le sucre et ses substituts afin de découvrir individuellement les propriétés des molécules.

 

En collaboration avec les chefs luxembourgeois Damien Klein, Ben Weber et Cathy Goedert et avec le soutien du Laboratoire Luxembourgeois de Contrôle Sanitaire, nous avons réalisé trois vidéos sur le thème des numéros E. Ici, de délicieuses recettes ont été préparées et la science qui les sous-tend a été expliquée.

Saumon fumé à E249-E252

Saler et fumer le saumon prolonge sa durée de conservation, c’est clair. Mais comment ça fonctionne ? Qu’arriverait-il au saumon après un certain temps si nous n’avions pas utilisé ces méthodes de conservation ? Ces questions sont répondues à l’aide d’une délicieuse recette de Damien Klein et d’expériences passionnantes.

Dorade, sur choucroute et Fueskichelcher luxembourgeois crées à base de micro-organismes

Lactobacillus et Saccharomyces cerevisiae, ainsi que les recettes de Ben Weber, nous montrent comment les micro-organismes transforment des ingrédients simples en plats savoureux. Les spectateurs peuvent admirer ces minuscules créatures dans leur intégralité et apprendre pourquoi de tels plats demandent généralement un peu de patience.

Tarte à l’orange avec E-950/953

Dans cette vidéo, nous avons préparé la délicieuse recette de tarte à l’orange de Cathy Goedert avec quatre substituts de sucre différents : saccharose, fructose, E950 et E953. Mais quelle est la différence entre ces substituts et le sucre ? Quel goût ont-ils ? Comment sont-ils traités dans notre corps ? Ces questions ainsi que des informations intéressantes sur la production de barbe à papa et de décorations en sucre sont mises en évidence dans cette vidéo.

Le projet a été couronné par un événement final : avec Cathy Goedert, les visiteurs ont pu découvrir de délicieuses recettes et vivre des expériences spectaculaires, pour petits et grands.

PROJET : Unpuzzling mathematics

« Unpuzzling mathematics » est un projet financé par une bourse PSP-Classic du Fonds national de la recherche (FNR). Le projet vise à transmettre la joie et l’excitation de l’un des sujets les plus importants, mais relativement inconnu, de la recherche moderne : la mathématique.

S’appuyant sur une application de livre interactive « Mathema » (https://tom-books.com/mathema/) écrite par Hugo Parlier (http://math.uni.lu/parlier/) de l’Université du Luxembourg et Paul Turner (http://www.unige.ch/~turnerpa/) de l’Université de Genève, trois objectifs se présentent :

  • Le premier objectif est de rendre « Mathema » (actuellement disponible uniquement sur iPad) disponible pour Android.
  • Le deuxième objectif est de créer une nouvelle application de puzzle, conçue sur base de l’expérience utilisateur de Mathema et de notre expérience d’utilisation de Mathema dans des événements publics.
  • Le troisième et dernier objectif est de créer une station expérimentale interactive basée sur les jeux de combinatoire dans Mathema et l’application. La station occupera une place permanente au Luxembourg Science Center.

Planifiez votre exploration!

Car image
Ce site utilise des cookies. Ceux-ci assurent la bonne fonctionnalité de notre Site et vous permettent de bénéficier de l’ensemble des fonctionnalités. En cliquant sur la case « J’accepte » vous acceptez le placement de ces