Skip to main content

FNR

PROJECT: KitchenLab

Kitchen or laboratory?! Co-financed by a PSP-Classic subsidy from the FNR, visitors discover how much science and technology is actually hidden in the kitchen and thus get to know a new side of it. In interactive workshops, visitors discover that a pinch of biology, chemistry, physics and mathematics is hidden in every meal – this is how their interest in these topics is aroused in a playful way. To this day, this project gave the go-ahead for successful and popular activities: the KitchenLab was established, furnished, equipped and the first four workshops for all ages were developed.

– Foodtransformers: When chocolate turns whitish and changes its texture? What is behind this phenomenon and more importantly: can you repair the chocolate?

– Hack the recipe: The best-known and most important kitchen reaction – the Maillard reaction – is the reason why food turns golden brown, smells and tastes delicious when it is roasted and baked. But what exactly is going on here and how can I experiment with the Maillard reaction?

– Trick your senses: Red, green, blue … how exactly does color influence our sense of taste? In this workshop we tested it and duped our visitors.

– Spherelicious: Spherical. In this workshop, visitors learned how much science is in round food.

– ESCITEing! With the help of this project, the Luxembourg Science Center organized and animated the “Delicious Science” session at Europe’s largest conference for science centers and museums: https://www.ecsite.eu/activities-and-services/ecsite-events/conferences/sessions/delicious-science

PROJECT: Descom

The Luxembourg Science Center is a partner in the Descom PSP flagship project led by the University of Luxembourg. In the context of this project science communication activities are organized and science communication courses are offered for doctoral students in Luxembourg. In the context of this project, the Luxembourg Science Center welcomes interns and hosts the comic exhibition developed by Descom.

Sonia is a doctoral candidate at the University of Luxembourg and did her internship with us at the Luxembourg Science Center: “I have always liked communicating science and sharing my knowledge with everyone. During my doctoral studies, I learned about the Science Center, and the DESCOM put me in contact to do an internship. Not only did I learn a lot more about science and communication, but I also had so much fun and collaborated with a wonderful team! My experience was so positive that, after the internship, I continue working in the Center as a scientific mediator.”

“Science is sometimes difficult to explain, that’s why we have to find fun ways to do it. A comic is a great way to give a message to the audience, who doesn’t like comics?” – Sonia (Twitter: @scisonias)

Descom developed 7 exciting comics on the subject of research in Luxembourg in collaboration with 22 doctoral students and professional artists. These were exhibited in the Luxembourg Science Center for 5 months.

The official homepage of the project can be found here: https://wwwfr.uni.lu/formations/fstm/doctoral_education_in_science_communication_descom

PROJECT: ScienceAlert

Where is science hidden in our everyday life? The ScienceAlert project, co-financed by a PSP Classic subsidy, is dedicated to this question. In the specially equipped LSC Studio , physical, chemical, mathematical and biological secrets of everyday life are revealed.

Which physical principle is hidden behind a corkscrew? Do energy drinks do what they promise? How does our brain actually communicate with our muscles? What do the earth and a greenhouse have in common? These are some of the questions we will find answers to during the short and interactive science shows (LSC News) “Cheers to science”, “Boost your performance” and “Trapped in a greenhouse”.

In addition, LSC reports, experts from the respective departments are presented in the video series and science is highlighted in their everyday life.

– EPISODE 1 – EPISODE 1 – Vinsmoselle: Charlène Muller, cellar master at DomainesVinsmoselle, explains how tartar is created and how tartar can be prevented.

– EPISODE 2 – LUNEX: Dr. Thorben Hülsdünker, Research Fellow at LUNEX University, demonstrates how training with stroboscopic glasses can optimize the reaction speed of athletes.

– EPISODE 3 – Terra: Sophie Pixius, co-founder of Terra, explains the impact of climate change on agriculture and how you can strengthen the resilience of agriculture.

The Coronavirus Mythbusters were also launched as part of this project. In this video series, myths about the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic were analyzed and corrected if necessary in collaboration with Luxembourg scientists.

You can find all the “Mythbusters” videos here: /en/mythbusters-coronavirus-15-episodes

PROJECT: EngrEdiEnts

Co-subsidized through a PSP Classic grant, this project revolves around the EngrEdiEnts of our food. You can find all sorts of incomprehensible numbers on food packaging – so-called E numbers – but what exactly is behind them? In collaboration with cooks and scientists from Luxembourg, 4 interactive workshops on the subject of E-Numbers were developed. Since then we have been decrypting this e-code together with our guests in the kitchen laboratory in an exciting and entertaining way.

E400-E499, thickeners, stabilizers and emulsifiers: Immiscible? Impossible!

What is the physical state of ice cream and what makes it so smooth? Visitors experiment with the EngrEdiEnts of ice cream and discover their influence on the taste and texture of ice cream. This workshop was developed together with the food scientist Christos Soukoulis from the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology.

E200-E324, preservatives and antioxidants: astronauts food.

How do we manage to preserve our food for a year on the International Space Station? During this workshop, the participants discover a wide variety of methods to preserve food.

E200-E324, preservatives and antioxidants: death vs. alive.

What do yeast and baking powder have in common and what are the differences? Through various recipes and experiments, visitors to this workshop will explore answers to this precise question.

E950 – E968, sweeteners: Sugar rush.

A sugar frenzy without calories – is that even possible? Visitors experiment with sugar and sugar substitutes in order to discover the properties of the individual molecules.

 

Together with the Luxembourgish chefs Damien Klein, Ben Weber and Cathy Goedert and the support of the Laboratoire Luxembourgeois de Contrôle Sanitaire, we have produced three videos on the subject of E-Numbers. Here delicious recipes were cooked and the science behind them explained.

Smoked salmon at E249-E252

The curing and smoking of salmon extend its shelf life, that much is clear. But how does it work? What would happen to the salmon after a while if we weren’t going to use preservation methods? These questions are answered using a delicious recipe by Damien Klein and exciting experiments.

Sea bream on sauerkraut and Luxembourg Fueskichelcher made by microorganisms

With the help of Lactobacillus and Saccharomyces cerevisiae , as well as the recipes by Ben Weber, we show how microorganisms transform simple ingredients into tasty dishes. Spectators can admire these tiny creatures in large measure and learn why such dishes usually require a little patience.

Orange tartlets with E-950/953

In this video we baked Cathy Goedert’s delicious orange tart recipe with four different sugar substitutes: sucrose, fructose, E950 and E953. But what is the difference between these sugar substitutes and sugar? How do they taste? How are they processed by our body? These questions as well as interesting information about cotton candy and sugar decoration can be found in this sweet video. 

The project was crowned by a sweet final event: together with Cathy Goedert, visitors were able to discover delicious recipes and experience spectacular experiments. Science for all ages.

PROJECT: Unpuzzling mathematics

«Unpuzzling mathematics» is a project financed by a PSP-Classic grant by the Fonds national de la recherche (FNR). The project aims to transmit the joy and excitement of one of the most important, yet relatively unknown, subjects of modern research: mathematics.

Building on the interactive book-app “Mathema” (https://tom-books.com/mathema/) written by Hugo Parlier (http://math.uni.lu/parlier/) from the University of Luxembourg and Paul Turner (http://www.unige.ch/~turnerpa/) from the University of Geneva, the goal of the current projects is threefold:

  • The first objective is to make “Mathema” (currently only available on iPad) available for Android.
  • The second objective is to create a new puzzle app, conceived following user experience of Mathema and our experience using Mathema in public events.
  • The third and final objective is to create an interactive exhibit based on the combinatorial games in Mathema and the App. The exhibit will take a permanent spot at the Luxembourg Science Center.

Plan your exploration !

Car image
By continuing to browse this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Direkt zum Inhalt

FNR

PROJEKT: KüchenLabor

Küche oder Labor?! Kofinanziert über eine PSP-Classic Subvention des FNR entdecken Besucher im KüchenLabor wieviel Wissenschaft und Technologie sich tatsächlich in der Küche versteckt und lernen sie so von einer neuen Seite kennen. In interaktiven Workshops entdecken Besucher, dass sich in jeder Mahlzeit eine Prise Biologie, Chemie, Physik, und Mathematik versteckt – so wird ihr Interesse an diesen Themen auf spielerische Art und Weise geweckt. Dieses Projekt gab den Startschuss für, bis zum heutigen Tage, erfolgreiche und beliebte Aktivitäten: das KüchenLabor wurde etabliert, eingerichtet, ausgestattet und die ersten vier Ateliers für Groß und Klein entwickelt.

- Foodtransformers: Wer kennt es nicht wenn Schokolade weißlich wird und ihre Textur verändert? Aber was steckt hinter diesem Phänomen und viel wichtiger: kann man die Schokolade reparieren?

- Hack the recipe: Die bekannteste und wichtigste Küchenreaktion – die Maillard Reaktion – ist der Grund warum Essen beim Braten und Backen goldbraun wird, lecker riecht und schmeckt. Aber was genau passiert bei hier und wie kann ich mit der Maillard Reaktion experimentieren?

- Trick your senses: Rot, grün blau … wie genau beeinflusst Farbe unseren Geschmacksinn? In diesem Workshop haben wir es getestet und Besucher hinters Licht geführt.

- Spherelicious: Kugelrund. In diesem Workshop lernten Besucher wieviel Wissenschaft in rundem Essen steckt.

- ESCITEing! Mithilfe dieses Projekts hat das Luxembourg Science Center die Session „Delicious Science“ auf Europas größten Konferenz für Science Center und Museen organisiert und animiert: https://www.ecsite.eu/activities-and-services/ecsite-events/conferences/sessions/delicious-science

PROJEKT: Descom

Das Luxembourg Science Center ist ein Partner, auf dem von der Universität Luxemburg geleiteten PSP-Flagship Projekt Descom. Im Kontext von diesem Projekt werden Wissenschaftskommunikationsaktivitäten organisiert und Wissenschaftkommunikationskurse für Doktoranten in Luxemburg angeboten. Das Luxembourg Science Center empfängt im Kontext von diesem Projekt Praktikanten und beherbergt die von Descom entwickelte Comic-Ausstellung.

Sonia ist Doktorandin an der Universität in Luxembourg und hat ihr Praktikum bei uns im Luxembourg Science Center gemacht: “I have always liked communicating science and sharing my knowledge with everyone. During my Doctoral studies, I learned about the Science Center, and the DESCOM put me in contact to do an internship. Not only I learned a lot more about science and communication, but I had so much fun and collaborated with a wonderful team! My experience was so positive that, after the internship, I continue working in the Center as a scientific mediator.”

“Science is sometimes difficult to explain, that’s why we have to find fun ways to do it. A comic is a great way to give a message to the audience, who doesn’t like comics?” - Sonia (Twitter: @scisonias)

Descom entwickelte in Zusammenarbeit mit 22 Doktorand/innen und professionellen Zeichnern 7 spannende Comics rund ums Thema Forschung in Luxembourg. Diese wurden im Luxembourg Science Center während 5 Monaten ausgestellt.

PROJEKT: ScienceAlert

Wo verbirgt sich Wissenschaft in unserem Alltag? Das durch eine PSP-Classic Subvention kofinanzierte Projekt ScienceAlert widmet sich dieser Frage . Im speziell dafür eingerichteten LSC Studio, werden physikalische, chemische, mathematische und biologische Geheimnisse des Alltags gelüftet .

Welches physikalische Prinzip verbirgt sich hinter einem Korkenzieher? Halten Energy Drinks das, was sie versprechen? Wie kommuniziert eigentlich unser Gehirn mit unseren Muskeln? Was haben die Erde und ein Gewächshaus gemeinsam? Dies sind einige der Fragen auf welche wir während den kurzen und interaktiven Wissenschaftshows (LSC News) “Cheers to science”, “Boost your performance” und “Trapped in a greenhouse” eine Antwort finden.

Zusätzlich werden in der Videoreihe LSC reports, Experten aus den jeweiligen Fachbereichen vorgestellt und die Wissenschaft in deren Alltag hervorgehoben.

- EPISODE 1 - Vinsmoselle: Charlène Muller, Kellermeisterin bei DomainesVinsmoselle, erklärt wie Weinstein entsteht und wie man die Weinsteinbildung verhindern kann.

- EPISODE 2 - LUNEX: Dr. Thorben Hülsdünker, Research Fellow an der LUNEX Universität, demonstriert wie durch Training mit einer stroboskopischen Brille die Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit von Sportler optimiert werden kann.

- EPISODE 3 - Terra: Sophie Pixius, Mitbegründerin von Terra, klärt über die Auswirkung des Klimawandels auf die Landwirtschaft auf und wie man die Resilienz der Landwirtschaft stärken kann.

Rahmen dieses Projekts wurden ebenfalls die Coronavirus Mythbusters ins Leben gerufen. In dieser Videoreihe wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit Luxemburger Wissenschaftlern, Mythen rund um die SARS-CoV-2 Pandemie analysiert und falls nötig richtiggestellt.

Hier finden Sie die alle "Mythbusters" Videos: /de/mythbusters-coronavirus-15-episodes

PROJEKT: EngrEdiEnts

Co-subventioniert über eine PSP-Classic Subvention dreht sich in diesem Projekt alles um die EngrEdiEnts unseres Essens. Auf Lebensmittelverpackungen findet man allerhand unverständliche Nummern - sogenannten E-Nummern – aber was genau versteckt sich dahinter? In Zusammenarbeit mit Köchen*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen aus Luxembourg wurden 4 interaktive Workshops zum Thema E-Nummern entwickelt. Seither entschlüsseln wir zusammen mit unseren Gästen im KüchenLabor diesen E-Code auf spannende und unterhaltsame Weise.

E400-E499, Verdickungsmittel, Stabilisatoren und Emulgatoren: Unmischbar? Unmöglich!

Welcher Aggregatzustand hat Eiscreme und was macht es so geschmeidig? Besucher experimentieren mit den EngrEdiEnts von Eiscreme und entdecken deren Einfluss auf den Geschmack und die Textur von Eiscreme. Dieser Workshop wurde gemeinsam mit dem Lebensmittelwissenschaftler Christos Soukoulis aus dem Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology entwickelt.

E200-E324, Konservierungsmittel und Antioxidantien: Astronauten Essen.

Wie schaffen wir es, unsere Nahrung für einen einjährigen Aufenthalt auf der Internationalen Raumstation haltbar zu machen? Während dieses Workshops entdecken die Teilnehmer*innen verschiedenste Methoden um Lebensmittel zu konservieren.

E200-E324, Konservierungsmittel und Antioxidantien: Tod vs. lebendig.

Was haben Hefe und Backpulver gemeinsam und wo liegen die Unterschiede? Durch verschiedene Rezepte und Experimente erforschen Besucher dieses Workshops Antworten auf genau diese Frage.

E950 – E968, Süßstoffe: Zuckerrausch.

Ein Zuckerrausch ohne Kalorien – ist das überhaupt möglich? Besucher experimentieren mit Zucker und Zuckerersatzstoffen umso die Eigenschaften der einzelnen Moleküle zu entdecken.

 

Zusammen mit den luxemburgischen Köchen*innen Damien Klein, Ben Weber und Cathy Goedert und der Unterstützung des Laboratoire Luxembourgeois de Contrôle Sanitaire haben wir drei Videos zum Thema E-Nummern produziert. Hier wurden leckere Rezepte gekocht und die Wissenschaft dahinter erklärt.

Geräucherter Lachs an E249-E252

Das Pökeln und Räuchern von Lachs verlängert dessen Haltbarkeit, soviel ist klar. Aber wie funktioniert das? Was würde mit dem Lachs nach einiger Zeit passieren, würden wir keine Konservierungsmethoden verwenden? Mittels eines leckeren Rezepts von Damien Klein und spannenden Experimenten werden diese Fragen beantwortet.

Dorade an, von Microorganismen hergestelltem, Sauerkraut und Luxemburger Fueskichelcher

Mit Hilfe von Lactobacillus und Saccharomyces cerevisiae, sowie den Rezepten von Ben Weber, zeigen wir wie Mikroorganismen einfache Zutaten in schmackhafte Gerichte verwandeln. Zuschauer können diese Kleinstlebewesen in groß bewundern und erfahren warum solche Gerichte meist etwas Geduld erfordern.

Orangentörtchen mit E-950/953

In diesem Video haben wir Cathy Goedert´s leckeres Orangentörtchen Rezept mit vier verschiedenen Zuckerersatzstoffen gebacken: Sacharose, Fructose, E950 und E953. Was aber unterscheidet diese Zuckerersatzstoffe untereinander und von Zucker? Wie schmecken sie? Wie werden sie von unserem Körper verarbeitet? Diese Fragen sowie interessante Informationen zur Zuckerwatten und Zuckerdekoration  Herstellung bekommen Zuschauer in diesem süßen Video.

Ein süßes Abschlussevent hat das Projekt gekrönt: zusammen mit Cathy Goedert konnten Besucher leckere Rezepte entdecken und spektakuläre Experimente erleben. Wissenschaft zum (Aus)probieren, für Groß und Klein.

PROJEKT: Unpuzzling mathematics

"Unpuzzling Mathematics" ist ein Projekt, das durch ein PSP-Classic Grant des National Research Fund (FNR) finanziert wird. Das Projekt soll die Freude und Schönheit eines der wichtigsten, aber relativ unbekannten Themen der modernen Forschung vermitteln: der Mathematik.

Basierend auf der interaktiven Buch-App „Mathema“ (https://tom-books.com/mathema/), geschrieben von Hugo Parlier (http://math.uni.lu/parlier/) von der Universität Luxemburg und Paul Turner (http://www.unige.ch/~turnerpa/) von der Universität Genf gibt es drei Ziele:

  • Erstens soll "Mathema" (derzeit nur auf dem iPad verfügbar) für Android verfügbar werden.
  • Zweitens wird eine neue Puzzle App erstellen, die auf der Benutzererfahrung von Mathema und Erfahrung mit der Verwendung von Mathema bei öffentlichen Veranstaltungen basiert ist.
  • Das dritte und letzte Ziel ist die Erstellung einer interaktiven Experimentierstation, die sich auf kombinatorische Spiele in Mathema und der neuen App basiert. Die Ausstellung wird einen festen Platz im Luxembourg Science Center erhalten.

Planen Sie Ihre Erkundung!

Car image
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Diese stellen die Funktionalität unserer Webseite sicher und ermöglichen es Ihnen, alle Funktionen zu nutzen. Wenn Sie auf "Ich akzeptiere" klicken, stimmen Sie der Platzierung dieser Cookies beim Besuch der Website zu.